Bruce Springsteen to Release Soul Music Covers Album

Bruce Springsteen is known for his legendary covers in live concerts. Now Springsteen will be releasing a studio album in which he covers fifteen soul music classics. The album is called Only the Strong Survive and it will be released in November 11, 2022.

Only the Strong Survive is the 21st studio album by Springsteen. It is his first album since 2020’s Letter to You. The album pays homage to the legendary catalogues of Motown, Gamble and Huff, Stax and many more. The album features contributions from The E Street Horns, full string arrangements by Rob Mathes, and backing vocals by Soozie Tyrell, Lisa Lowell, Michelle Moore, Curtis King Jr., Dennis Collins and Fonzi Thornton. 

Springsteen says the album focuses on his vocals and he re-discovered the power of his own voice while putting this collection together.

Only The Strong Survive was tracked at Thrill Hill Recording in New Jersey, produced by Ron Aniello, engineered by Rob Lebret and executive produced by Jon Landau.

Earlier this year, Springsteen announced he would reunite with the legendary E Street Band in February for his 2023 international tour, which to date has sold over 1.6million tickets across the United States and Europe.

The trackless to Only The Strong Survive features:

1. Only the Strong Survive
2. Soul Days feat. Sam Moore
3. Nightshift
4. Do I Love You (Indeed I Do)
5. The Sun Ain’t Gonna Shine Anymore
6. Turn Back the Hands of Time
7. When She Was My Girl
8. Hey, Western Union Man
9. I Wish It Would Rain
10. Don’t Play That Song
11. Any Other Way
12. I Forgot to Be Your Lover feat. Sam Moore
13. 7 Rooms of Gloom
14. What Becomes of the Brokenhearted
15. Someday We’ll Be Together

A music video for Do I Love You (Indeed I Do) was released. Springsteen also produced a video in which he announces the Only the Strong Survive project.

1 comment on “Bruce Springsteen to Release Soul Music Covers Album

  1. Pingback: Prime Time Jukebox Episode 80: Album Archaeology #10 – Purple Rain, Prince & The Revolution – CigarJukebox

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: