2023 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame has announced its inductees for the Class of 2023. In addition to the Performer Category (which artists received nominations and was voted on), there were three special categories (Musical Influence, Musical Excellence, and the Ahmet Ertegan Award).


Sheryl Crow, Missy Elliott, George Michael, and Willie Nelson were inducted on their first time being nominated. Rage Against the Machine finally gets in after five nominations. Kate Bush and the Spinners have been nominated four times in the past.

  • Kate Bush
  • Sheryl Crow
  • Missy Elliott
  • George Michael
  • Willie Nelson
  • Rage Against the Machine
  • The Spinners

Those nominated but not inducted include: A Tribe Called Quest, Iron Maiden, Joy Division/New Order, Cyndi Lauper, The White Stripes, Soundgarden, and Warren Zevon.

Following the announcement of the nominees a “fan vote” was held. The top five artists of the fan vote are submitted as a single fan ballot. The top five finished as follows with 3 artists from that ballot garnering induction. This vote is placed among the approximate 1000 music industry professionals who vote on the Hall of Fame. While last year, the Top 5 fan voted artists were all inducted, this year only George Michael (who won the fan vote) was inducted.

  1. George Michael (Inducted)
  2. Cyndi Lauper (Not Inducted)
  3. Warren Zevon (Not Inducted)
  4. Iron Maiden (Not Inducted)
  5. Soundgarden (Not Inducted)

Musical Influence

The Musical Influence category is selected by the Hall.This category includes artists who have created music whose originality, impact and influence has changed the course of rock ‘n’ roll.

  • DJ Kool Herc 
  • Link Wray 

Musical Excellence

The Musical Excellence category is selected by the Hall. The Rock Hall describes this category as “The Award for Musical Excellence shall be given to artists, musicians, songwriters and producers whose originality and influence creating music have had a dramatic impact on music.”

  • Chaka Khan 
  • Al Kooper
  • Bernie Taupin

Ahmet Ertegan Award

Named for the legendary record executive, this is an award for non performers. Winners are selected by the Hall committee.

  • Don Cornelius

Don Cornelius is best known for his run as the host of Soul Train.

The 2023 Rock n Roll Hall of Fame Induction ceremony takes place at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn, New York on November 3rd, 2023.

0 comments on “2023 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: