Dolly Parton’s Rock Album Slated for November Release

Details of Dolly Parton’s debut Rock album have been announced. The project is titled Rockstar and its 4 LP/2 CD collection that is set for global release on November 17, 2023. The collection will also be available on streaming and digital download platforms.

Rockstar consists of 30 tracks including nine original tracks and 21 covers of anthemic Rock albums. 39 artists will be collaborating with Parton. Some of these artists include: Paul McCartney, Ringo Starr, Sting, Elton John, and many others.

Parton was induced into the Rock & Roll of Fame in 2022. Pat Benatar, Neil Giraldo, Duran Duran (Simon LeBon), and Judas Priest (Rob Halford) who are collaborators on Rockstar were also inducted in that class.

Parton decided to take on the project after she was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. After being nominated, Parton had asked to be removed from the ballot as she said there were artists who had contributed more to Rock music than she did. The Hall of Fame committee opted to not remove her nomination. When her selection was announced, Parton decided to live up to the honor and do an album.

“I’m so excited to finally present my first Rock and Roll album Rockstar!” commented Parton in a press release. “I am very honored and privileged to have worked with some of the greatest iconic singers and musicians of all time and to be able to sing all the iconic songs throughout the album was a joy beyond measure. I hope everybody enjoys the album as much as I’ve enjoyed putting it together!”

Currently pre-orders for the album are now be taken. A single called World on Fire is set for release on May 11.

In regards to World on Fire, Parton said, “This is a song I felt very inspired to write,” Dolly said. “I think it speaks about everything and to everyone this day and time. I hope it is something that will touch you and maybe touch enough people to want to make a change for the better.”

Dolly Parton Rockstar Tracklist

1. “Rockstar” (special guest Richie Sambora)
2. “World on Fire”
3. “Every Breath You Take” (feat. Sting)
4. “Open Arms” (feat. Steve Perry)
5. “Magic Man” (feat. Ann Wilson with special guest Howard Leese)
6. “Long As I Can See the Light” (feat. John Fogerty)
7. “Either Or” (feat. Kid Rock)
8. “I Want You Back” (feat. Steven Tyler with special guest Warren Haynes)
9. “What Has Rock and Roll Ever Done for You” (feat. Stevie Nicks with special guest Waddy Wachtel)
10. “Purple Rain”
11. “Baby, I Love Your Way” (feat. Peter Frampton)
12. “I Hate Myself for Loving You” (feat. Joan Jett & The Blackhearts)
13. “Night Moves” (feat. Chris Stapleton)
14. “Wrecking Ball” (feat. Miley Cyrus)
15. “(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction” (feat. P!nk & Brandi Carlile)
16. “Keep on Loving You” (feat. Kevin Cronin)
17. “Heart of Glass” (feat. Debbie Harry)
18. “Don’t Let the Sun Go Down on Me” (feat. Elton John)
19. “Tried to Rock and Roll Me” (feat. Melissa Etheridge)
20. “Stairway to Heaven” (feat. Lizzo & Sasha Flute)
21. “We Are the Champions”
22. “Bygones” (feat. Rob Halford with special guests Nikki Sixx & John 5)
23. “My Blue Tears” (feat. Simon Le Bon)
24. “What’s Up?” (feat. Linda Perry)
25. “You’re No Good” (feat. Emmylou Harris & Sheryl Crow)
26. “Heartbreaker” (feat. Pat Benatar & Neil Giraldo)
27. “Bittersweet” (feat. Michael McDonald)
28. “I Dreamed About Elvis” (feat. Ronnie McDowell with special guest The Jordanaires)
29. “Let It Be” (feat. Paul McCartney & Ringo Starr with special guests Peter Frampton & Mick Fleetwood)
30. “Free Bird” (feat. Ronnie Van Zant with special guests Gary Rossington, Artimus Pyle and The Artimus Pyle Band)

Collaboration Artists on Rockstar

  • Ann Wilson
  • Artimus Pyle and The Artimus Pyle Band
  • Brandi Carlile
  • Chris Stapleton
  • Debbie Harry
  • Elton John
  • Emmylou Harris
  • Gary Rossington
  • Howard Leese
  • Joan Jett & the Blackhearts
  • John 5
  • John Fogerty
  • Kevin Cronin
  • Kid Rock
  • Linda Perry
  • Lizzo & Sasha Flute
  • Melissa Etheridge
  • Michael McDonald
  • Mick Fleetwood
  • Miley Cyrus
  • Neil Giraldo
  • Nikki Sixx
  • P!nk
  • Pat Benatar
  • Paul McCartney
  • Peter Frampton
  • Richie Sambora
  • Ring Starr
  • Rob Halford
  • Ronnie McDowell
  • Ronnie Van Zant
  • Sheryl Crow
  • Simon Le Bon
  • Stevie Nicks
  • Sting
  • Steven Tyler
  • The Jordanaires
  • Warren Haynes
  • Waddy Wachtel

0 comments on “Dolly Parton’s Rock Album Slated for November Release

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: